

New Mexico State Senate

State Capitol Santa He 87501

July 26, 2024

The Honorable Michelle Lujan Grisham Governor of New Mexico 490 Old Santa Fe Trail, Suite 400 Santa Fe, NM 87501

Dear Governor Lujan Grisham:

We, the below signed elected officials, are writing to you today out of strong concern and disapproval regarding the Construction Industries Division's (CID) Residential Energy Conservation Code rule which mandates the implementation of Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) for Electric Vehicles (EV) for all future residential dwellings. This rule, adopted in January of this year, goes into effect for all residential permits beginning July 30, 2024.

This rule strongly resembles the intentions of 2023's Senate Bill 77 which did not pass the legislature after consideration and debate. This ruling undermines the decision-making authority of the legislature as well as the citizens of New Mexico, who have elected their representation specifically to have a voice on matters such as these. Furthermore, this unnecessary and sweeping measure incurs additional costs to prospective homebuyers who are already struggling in this financial landscape. It is estimated that this mandate will affect first-time home buyers who are building a home to the tune of up to \$15,000 more in an already stretched housing market. Estimates for commercial properties show an increased cost of up to \$150,000. Additionally, in many communities throughout New Mexico, the available power infrastructure is unable to support EV charging on a large scale, calling into question the feasibility of this mandate.

New Mexicans and their elected representatives must have a say in this matter. On behalf of the citizens of New Mexico and various stakeholders in residential construction and development, we ask that this rule's effective date of July 30, 2024, be delayed. In the meantime, consideration of this matter from representatives, stakeholders, experts, and most importantly, the public is necessary.

Respectfully,

GREGORY A. BACA

State Senator

Senate Republican Leader

MARK MOORES

State Senator

Senate Republican Caucus Chair

CRAIG W. BRANDT

State Senator

Senate Republican Whip

CRYSTAL BRANTLEY

State Senator

The Honorable Michelle Lujan Grisham Page 2 July 26, 2024

WILLIAM F. BURT

State Senator

RON GRAGGS

State Senator

STEVEN P. NEVILLE

State Senator

LIFF PIRTLE

State Senator

GREGG SCHMEDES, M.D.

State Senator

PAT WOODS

State Senator

DAVID M. GALLEGOS

State Senator

STEVEN McCUTCHEON II

State Senator

GREG NEBERT

State Senator

JOSHUA SANCHEZ

State Senator

WILLIAM E. SHARER

State Senator